Chocolate Fudge Pie

In all honesty, I never knew chocolate pie was a ‘thing’. I was lying in bed watching The Office (as per usual) when Jim mentioned pies to Pam. He talked about the usuals: apple, blueberry, peach etc.. and then, CHOCOLATE. WHAT?! I immediately turned to my boyfriend to make sure I heard that properly. He assured me that, yes, chocolate pie has been around for a while and I have subsequently been living under a rock. In a daze of excitement and confusion, I agreed to make said pie the next day.

It was surprisingly hard to make. It reminded me of lemon meringue pie (my favourite and one I make all the time) since it involved a lot of constant stirring and attention. I was somewhat happy with the result, I just found the chocolate filling to be a bit too sweet. If I were to make this again, I would definitely reduce the amount of sugar (and advise you to do the same!).

Having never made it before, I randomly chose a recipe on Google. This is the one I picked (yes, because of the ‘fudge’ aspect of it). With a few changes and alterations, this could be a really good recipe!

What you’ll need:

– Pie crust (I was lazy and didn’t have time to make my own, so I bought pre-made Tenderflake crust at the grocery store)

– 1 1/4 cups sugar (I suggest putting 3/4-1 cup)

– 2 tbsp flour

– 2 tbs cornstarch (After reading some of the reviews, I added an extra 2 tsp)

– 1/4 tsp salt

– 1 1/2 cups milk

– 4 eggs yolks (save the eggs whites for the meringue on top)

– 1 ounce unsweetened chocolate, chopped up into small pieces

– 1 tbsp butter

– 1 tsp vanilla (I always add a little more vanilla!)

In a medium saucepan, combine sugar, flour, cornstarch and salt.

IMG_6939

In a separate bowl, combine milk and eggs yolks (whisk thoroughly!).

IMG_6944

Once this is all mixed properly, put heat on medium and slowly pour in the liquid mixture to the dry ingredients.  It is crucial at this point to continuously stir, otherwise you may get cooked egg yolks floating around and it may burn at the bottom!

It took a while for the mixture to become thick, but just be patient! Mix until it comes to a full boil. Once it’s boiling, mix for about another minute then take it off the heat.

Add the chocolate, butter and vanilla and mix thoroughly until smooth.

IMG_6947

IMG_6949

IMG_6952

Pour the deliciousness into your pie crust, and let it chill for about 4 hours before serving! Once ready to serve, beat your egg whites (add a pinch of sugar) and eat away! You can also replace the meringue with whipped cream, but that would have been sugar overload for me!

IMG_6953

IMG_6968

Hope you enjoy!

– Jill

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Fudge Pie

  1. Pingback: Google

Leave a Reply

