Gluten Free Banana Bread

A couple of years ago, my doctor informed me that I was, unfortunately, gluten intolerant. I can still eat it, but I feel really sick when I do and it’s not worth the pain anymore! What I didn’t realize, was that gluten is in EVERYTHING. I started buying gluten free foods, but that put a serious dent in my bank account (and a lot less money for shopping). So I decided to start making gluten free foods myself!

Robin Hood (a Canadian baking brand) finally came out with gluten free flour, which is my favourite to date! You can’t taste the gluten free after taste (as I like to call it) in anything you make. It is an extra $2 then their normal flour, but if you’re gluten free it’s the cheapest flour out there!

I stumbled upon this recipe that I have used many times before and decided to make it gluten free. The result? The best banana bread I’ve ever made! It was moist, rich and more importantly, no one could tell it was gluten free! (If you want to make this a gluten filled snack, simply switch the gluten free flour for normal flour!)

What you’ll need:

– 1/2 butter (softened)

– 1 cup sugar

– 2 eggs (beaten)

– 3-4 ripe bananas

– 1 1/2 cups gluten free flour (or normal flour!)

– 1 tsp baking soda

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 1/2 tsp vanilla (I usually add a bit more)

– You can also add chocolate chips and/or walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

First (I did this in a blender since I’m lazy, but you can also do it in a bowl), cream butter and sugar until smooth.

IMG_4431

IMG_4432

IMG_4433

IMG_4434

Next, add the bananas and blend until smooth.

IMG_4435

IMG_4436

Add flour, baking soda, salt and vanilla to the liquid.

IMG_4439

IMG_4440

Add the mixture to a greased bread pan and bake for 54 minutes. I know this is really precise, but after baking this so many times before, I found that it’s the perfect time since it leaves the bread moist, fully cooked and not dry!

IMG_4442

IMG_4443

IMG_4444

Happy eating!

– Jill

3 thoughts on “Gluten Free Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

